Homebuilder Model-Home Cleaning Contractor
SMB Acquisition · Commercial Cleaning Services · Austin–San Antonio, TX · 70% Recurring Revenue
Thirty-five years under one owner, cleaning model homes and closings for roughly 35 national and regional homebuilders across Austin and San Antonio on standing weekly contracts: customer relationships running 18 to 25 years, zero accounts lost this cycle, and a full year of proof the business runs without its owner in the room. Austin, Texas.
| 76 / 100 | BreakdownStructure: Moderate · Operator: Strong · Market: Strong |
| Pillar | Score | Max |
|---|---|---|
| Deal Structure | 28 | 40 |
| Operator Track Record | 28 | 35 |
| Market Conditions | 20 | 25 |
| Total | 76 | 100 |
This is the clear lead of Docket No. 017, the only entry among twenty-nine deals sourced this week to clear 65, and the highest score this publication has assigned since Issue 006. What earns it isn't a single standout number; it's that the business's central claim, that it runs without its owner, was already tested once, for a full year, with revenue growing rather than holding flat. The reconciliation and the two things still missing from the listing are below.
| Business | Commercial cleaning of model homes, inventory homes, and closings for national and regional homebuilders |
| Location | Austin and San Antonio, Texas metro markets |
| Established | 1991 (35 years under the same ownership) |
| Asking Price | $1,895,000 |
| Cash Flow (SDE) | $504,427 |
| Gross Revenue | $2,662,948 (2025); disclosed at $2.08M in 2022, per ownership |
| SDE Multiple | 3.76x |
| SDE Margin | 18.9% |
| Price / Revenue | 0.71x |
| Recurring Revenue | ~70% of revenue, invoiced weekly on standing model-home service contracts |
| Customer Base | ~35 active builder customers, including several major national production builders; two new accounts onboarding |
| Customer Tenure | Multiple relationships of 18–25 years; no accounts lost in the current cycle |
| Real Estate | Leased, two offices, ~$36,000/year combined rent |
| Workforce | Owner (~10 hrs/week); 2 branch managers (4 and 8 yr tenure); 1 business services manager (8 yr tenure); ~25 certified 1099 contractor crews (15–25 yr tenure common) |
| Financing | SBA financing available; no down-payment percentage or seller-note terms disclosed |
| Reason for Sale | Health complications |
| Listing Type | SMB Acquisition listing; broker/FSBO status not stated |
| Source | BizBuySell, Ad #2547306 |
A commercial cleaning company founded in 1991 and still under its original ownership services model homes, inventory homes, and closings for national and regional homebuilders across the Austin and San Antonio metro areas, two of the fastest-growing metro markets in the country. Roughly 70% of revenue is recurring and invoiced weekly: model homes are serviced on standing weekly or twice-weekly schedules for the life of a community, typically three to five years, with new communities replacing seasoned ones as builders open new phases. The company reports approximately 35 active builder customers, including several of the largest national production builders, with multiple relationships running 18 to 25 years and no accounts lost in the current cycle. Two new builder accounts are onboarding now.
The business runs semi-absentee: the owner works roughly 10 hours per week on legal, finance, and closing inbound accounts, while two branch managers (4 and 8 years' tenure) and a business services manager (8 years' tenure) run daily operations. Cleaning itself is performed by approximately 25 certified 1099 contractor crews, with tenure commonly running 15 to 25 years, long enough that several of these subcontractor relationships predate the newer of the two branch managers. A dedicated quality-assurance program (inspectors independent of the cleaning crews, visiting sites, documenting inspections photographically, performing touch-ups on the spot) is named as the reason builders keep the company on multi-community vendor packets. The stated reason for sale is the owner's health.
What a subscriber must carry through the rest of this Dossier: the recurring revenue, the customer tenure, and the year of tested continuity are the strongest facts this publication has seen from an SMB listing this cycle. What holds this at 76 rather than higher is what's missing around the edges: no down-payment or seller-financing terms, no customer-concentration figure, and no year-by-year revenue between the two disclosed data points.
| Deal Structure | 28 / 40 |
| Financial disclosure and reconciliation | 14 / 20 |
The core arithmetic checks out. Asking price of $1,895,000 against SDE of $504,427 is a 3.76x multiple; that same SDE against 2025 gross revenue of $2,662,948 is an 18.9% margin, both numbers a buyer would independently derive from the listing's own disclosed figures, and both land in a normal range for an asset-light services business rather than an outlier in either direction. Revenue is also disclosed at two points in time, $2.08 million in 2022 and $2.66 million in 2025, which is real, checkable trend data most SMB listings this publication reviews don't provide at all; the implied compound growth rate across that span is roughly 8.6% per year.
Points withheld: six points. First, the listing claims revenue "grown in every year on file," but only two data points, 2022 and 2025, are actually disclosed; the 2023 and 2024 figures needed to confirm every intervening year, not just the endpoints, are missing, so the "every year" claim is asserted, not fully demonstrated by what's shown. Second, no EBITDA is disclosed alongside SDE, so there's no second, unadjusted figure to check the SDE addback against, a gap that matters more here than in a typical listing, because SDE folds in the owner's stated 10-hour-a-week compensation, which the listing never quantifies as its own line item.
| Deal terms and closing structure | 14 / 20 |
SBA financing is confirmed available, which is a real, checkable structural fact rather than a vague affordability claim, and materially lowers the capital a buyer needs at close relative to an all-cash purchase. The listing also itemizes real, specific facts about the underlying operation instead of adjectives: two leased offices at roughly $36,000 combined annual rent, 25 contractor firms with a disclosed tenure range, and a named growth avenue (the office/janitorial division, historically run near $700,000) with a specific prior revenue figure attached rather than a generic "upside" claim.
Points withheld: six points. The listing states "SBA Financing Available" with no down-payment percentage, term, or rate disclosed. Compare that to this week's Foam Fabrication listing, which itemized an exact 11% down payment and $27,730/month structure. No seller-financing or earnout structure is offered, unlike several other listings sourced this week; and the real estate is entirely leased, not owned, so there's no hard asset backing the price beyond the operating business itself. The lease terms (length, renewal options, rent escalation) aren't disclosed.
| Operator Track Record | 28 / 35 |
| Continuity track record, a lived test not a projection | 16 / 20 |
This is the strongest fact in the entire listing: the owner ran the business from out of state for a full year, and revenue grew during that year rather than merely holding flat. Most SMB listings ask a buyer to take continuity on faith, a claim that the team can run without the owner. This listing offers a year of realized evidence instead. That evidence is reinforced by two branch managers with 4 and 8 years of tenure and a business services manager with 8 years of tenure, all disclosed as expected to remain through and after a sale, plus roughly 25 contractor crews with 15-to-25-year tenure, relationships that predate the current management layer and would need to be actively mismanaged to walk away over a change in ownership alone.
Points withheld: four points. The listing never states which year the remote-operation test occurred, how long it lasted precisely beyond "a full year," or what specific decisions the management team made independently versus what the owner still directed by phone or email during that period, so the depth of the test is real but not fully specified.
| Verifiable credentials and transparency | 12 / 15 |
The quality-assurance program (inspectors independent of the cleaning crews, documenting inspections photographically, performing on-site touch-ups) is a specific, structural mechanism a buyer could ask to see evidence of, such as inspection logs or photo archives, rather than a claim resting on the seller's word alone. Employee and contractor tenure figures are disclosed with specific year ranges rather than vague terms like "long-tenured," and the listing names concrete customer-retention facts (no accounts lost this cycle, two new accounts onboarding) instead of a general retention claim.
Points withheld: three points. No individual owner, branch manager, or business services manager is named anywhere in the listing, standard for an anonymized SMB acquisition, but it means none of the tenure or performance claims above can be independently checked against a real name before an NDA is signed.
| Market Conditions | 20 / 25 |
| Demand durability and customer concentration | 12 / 15 |
Recurring, contract-based revenue tied to community-level homebuilding schedules, not one-off jobs, gives this business a more visible forward revenue picture than most SMB listings this publication reviews. Roughly 35 active builder relationships, several with major national production builders, is real diversification for a business this size; the loss of any single account would be a meaningful but not existential hit, and two new accounts onboarding this cycle is a live, current data point rather than a stale claim.
Points withheld: three points. The listing doesn't disclose what share of revenue comes from the single largest builder customer, so "roughly 35 customers" doesn't rule out meaningful concentration in the top two or three accounts, the same disclosure gap this publication flagged on a wholesale distributor sourced this same week, which did name its concentration figures explicitly (largest customer at 1.2% of sales). This listing offers no equivalent number.
| Regional growth tailwind | 8 / 10 |
Austin and San Antonio are named, checkable examples of sustained population in-migration driving new residential construction, a structural, multi-year demand driver for a business whose revenue is tied directly to new-home construction volume, not a cyclical or one-time claim. The stated growth levers (re-entering Houston at existing builder clients' request, construction cleans already requested by builders, reviving the roughly $700,000 office/janitorial division) are specific and demand-pulled rather than speculative; builders are asking this company to follow them, not the reverse.
Points withheld: two points, because the business has never employed a salesperson, meaning every named growth lever depends on a new owner building a function that doesn't currently exist, and new-home construction volume, the revenue driver underneath the entire recurring-revenue base, is itself sensitive to interest rates and housing-market cycles the listing doesn't address.
A score of 76 reflects the strongest continuity evidence and the tightest customer relationships this publication has reviewed this cycle, held short of a higher score by financing terms and a concentration figure the listing does not disclose. Six things a subscriber should confirm before acting.
Get the 2023 and 2024 revenue figures before treating "grown every year" as confirmed. The listing discloses 2022 and 2025 endpoints only. A straight line between two points can hide a down year in between; request the full four-year P&L, not just the summary figures.
SDE includes the owner's roughly 10 hours a week of work folded back into cash flow as an addback. Get the specific dollar figure being added back, and confirm what a replacement general manager at that time commitment would actually cost; that number should be netted against SDE before comparing this deal's multiple to a business with a true owner-compensation figure already stripped out.
With roughly 35 builder customers and no concentration figures disclosed, this is the single missing number most likely to change the Market Conditions assessment materially in either direction.
The business is entirely leased, not owned. Get remaining term, renewal options, and any rent escalation clauses; a forced relocation or a rent spike hits a company with 18-to-25-year customer relationships and zero real estate cushion harder than it would hit an asset-heavier business.
Which specific year, how many owner touchpoints (calls, site visits, sign-offs) occurred during it, and which decisions the branch managers made entirely independently. The claim is the strongest fact in the listing; it's worth getting the specifics rather than taking the one-sentence summary at face value.
Recurring, weekly-invoiced revenue on multi-year builder contracts is a real strength, but the listing discloses no receivables aging or historical collection rate; worth confirming before assuming 70% recurring revenue converts to cash on the same reliable schedule it's invoiced.
This is a for-sale listing sourced via BizBuySell (Ad #2547306); broker or FSBO status is not stated in the public listing. A subscriber pursues this deal by contacting the seller or listing broker directly through the platform. The Docket has no relationship with the seller and receives no compensation for coverage.
Sourced via BizBuySell, Ad #2547306, "$500K Net Semi-Absentee Commercial Cleaning Co w/ 70% Recurring Revenue," Austin, Texas. No individual owner, branch manager, or business services manager is named in the listing.
All financial figures, asking price, SDE, gross revenue, and the 2022/2025 revenue data points, are as represented by the seller and have not been independently verified by The Docket, with the exception of the arithmetic reconciliation performed above (SDE multiple, SDE margin, price-to-revenue ratio, and implied revenue CAGR), which checks the seller's own disclosed figures against each other and against basic math, not against underlying source documents.
This Dossier is independent editorial review based on publicly available information at the time of writing. The full scoring framework is available here.
The Docket's scoring represents independent editorial judgment based on publicly available information at the time of review. Scores are not investment advice, recommendations to invest or not invest, projections of future returns, or representations about the accuracy of any seller's or broker's disclosures. All acquisition decisions are the sole responsibility of the subscriber. The Docket is not a registered investment advisor, broker-dealer, or business broker.
Business acquisitions carry risk of loss, including total loss of principal and invested capital, and are appropriate only for buyers who can bear the risks involved and who conduct independent due diligence. Seller-represented financials, including SDE and revenue, are not verified by The Docket and must be independently confirmed. Prior operating history is not indicative of future results.
Dossier No. 017a · getthedocket.com · August 31, 2026